The Syro-Malabar Catholic Church is a Major Archiepiscopal Church in full
communion with the Apostolic See of Rome. The Church is headed by the Major
Archbishop of Ernakulam-Angamaly, Mar George Cardinal Alencherry. It is one
of the 23 sui iuris (autonomous) Eastern Catholic Churches in the Catholic
communion. It is the second largest Eastern Catholic Church, the largest being
the Ukrainian Catholic Church. The Syro-Malabar Church follows the East-Syrian
liturgy which dates back to 3rd century.
Known for its deep-rooted spirituality and high rate of vocations to the
priesthood and religious life, the Syro-Malabar Church is perhaps the most
vibrant Catholic Church in the world, with over four million believers and a rich
and fascinating history.
Syro-Malabar Catholics, also called “St. Thomas Christians”, trace their origins
and faith to the missionary efforts of St. Thomas the Apostle, who landed at
Kodungallur in Kerala, India, in 52 AD. St. Thomas was martyred at Mylapur,
Chennai, India, in 72 AD, after preaching and establishing Christian communities
in different parts of India.
Until the late 16th century, Bishops were appointed and sent by the Patriarch of
the East Syrian Church, who governed the St. Thomas Christians. However, the
arrival of the Portuguese in India marked a new era in the life of the Church.
Hierarchically they were brought under the rule of the Latin Bishops after the
Synod of Diamper.
In 1653 in the infamous ‘Coonan Cross Oath’ at Mattancherry, many St. Thomas
Christians vowed to disobey the Latin hierarchy. Thus began a rift among St.
Thomas Christians, who were one Church until that time. Eventually, some
returned to the jurisdiction of the Latin rule to be in communion with the Pope,
while others stood firm in their stand of opposition to the Portuguese.
Those who continued under the Latin rule formed the community that became
the Syro-Malabar Church. Those who remained opposing the Portuguese
encountered the Jacobite Patriarch and eventually became Jacobites, of which
a fraction reunited with the Catholic Communion in 1930;they are now known
as the Syro-Malankara Church.
Finally, after 230 years of Latin governance, the Syro-Malabar Church hierarchy
was established in India, in 1923.
Since then it has grown rapidly, and in 1992 Pope John Paul ll elevated it to the
status of a Major Archiepiscopal Sui iuris Church with the title of ErnakulamAngamaly.
It is one of the four Major Archiepiscopal Churches, the other three
being the Syro-Malankara Church, Ukrainian Church and the Romanian Church.
The contribution of the religious, charitable and educational institutions
managed by the different dioceses of the Church, to the welfare of Kerala and
other states of India, is immense. The widespread diaspora of the Indian
community outside the continent has also seen the Syro-Malabar faithful spread
to regions outside Kerala, and it has a large presence in Australia.
On 23 December 2013 Holy Father Francis established The Syro-Malabar
Eparchy of St Thomas the Apostle, Melbourne for Australia, the second Eparchy
outside the territory after Chicago, USA. Pope Francis appointed Bishop Bosco
Puthur, then Curia Bishop of Major Archiepiscopal Curia, Kerala, as the first
Bishop/Eparch of the new Eparchy. Bishop Bosco Puthur was installed on 25
March, 2014 in Melbourne.
On 20th November, the Feast of Christ the King, the day of Conclusion of the
Year of Mercy, by the decree given by Bishop Bosco Puthoor from the Chancery
of the Eparchy of Melbourne, St Euphrasia Syro-Malabar Parish was established.
Our patroness is St Euphrasia (Evuprassiamma) and ours is the first parish to be
established in her name.
From the humble beginnings, a decade ago with a few occasional family
congregations we progressed to become the first Syro-Malabar parish in South
Australia. Rev Dr Biju John Chulayillaplackal became the first Vicar of the new
Parish. Our parish stands out among similar Syro-Malabar parishes in the
diocese for the Christian Love among the parish families. We consider each
other as members of their extended family. Let us pray that this sense of love,
fellowship and sharing continue in our parish as we grow together and go further in our journey of faith.

Fr. Ajith Cheriakkara

            Email: fr.ajithantony@gmail.com

PH: 0469 372 316

Qurbana Times

Sunday :
CATECHISM CLASSES @ 0430 & Holy Qurbana @ 0520 .
Holy Qurbana at 0600 PM 
Holy Qurbana at 0600 PM & St Antony’s NOVENA
NO Holy Qurbana 
Holy Qurbana at 0600 PM 
Holy Qurbana at 0600 PM  & St Euphrasia’s Novana & Adoration 
Holy Qurbana at 0900 AM & NOVENA MOTHER MARY
Address: 5 Wiley St, Elizabeth South SA 5112

Diocesan Pastoral Council Members:

Biju Jose